Blackburn, Seafield & District Credit Union

Established in 1994 Companies House Number 99CUS  

Blackburn Seafield and District Credit Union was formed in September 1994 originally for the residents in the villages of Blackburn and Seafield.

Now, anyone who lives or works in the towns and villages to the west of Livingston including Harthill and Eastfield in North Lanarkshire, can join the Credit Union.

In 1996 the first School Saving Scheme opened in Blackburn Primary School; this has grown to 20 School Saving Schemes where pupils save almost £40,000 a year. Through saving at school young people learn the practical side of financial education and hopefully develop a habit for life.

The credit union has “Empty Your Piggy Bank Days” are provided throughout the year free of charge to be paid into a member’s credit union account.

 The credit union became a member of ACE trade association in 2015 and membership stood at 2700.

The Credit Union offers a face to face service at collection points in Addiewell, Bathgate, Fauldhouse, Stoneyburn, Armadale, Whitburn as well as the office in Blackburn.

With the introduction of IT and the internet will enable members to check account balances and apply for loans via internet or on their mobile phones.

Want to find out more?

Visit the BSD Credit Union website, or get in touch with their team:

Telephone – 01506 650198

Email –

Copyright British Credit Union Historical Society 2018 – All rights reserved

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close