Portaferry Credit Union

Was founded in January 1965 by the local parish priest as an Industrial and Provident Society Company registering in January 1971with the company number NO000060. 

Membership began of the Portaferry and District Credit Union who paid the subs of 2s-6d. collected by volunteers from the community. 

The credit union was encouraged by the local parish priest after seeing Derry Credit Unions progress as the first credit union in Northern Ireland.  

Encouraged the Directors decided to open premises on the high street in July 1971 later with the increase of members purchased and occupied premises in 1975.

This was a step in the right direction in order to accommodate the future of the credit union and for dedicated members of Staff.

They continue serving members in the Ards Peninsula Area situated on the Shores of Strangford Lough. 

Membership has reached 4,000 and 1500 Minor Accounts. They have issued £3.75M worth in loans and boast savings of £7M.

For the full history go to http://portaferrycu.com/about


Want to find out more?

Visit the Portaferry Credit Union website, or get in touch with their team:

Telephone – 028 4273 9279

Email – info@portaferrycu.com


Copyright British Credit Union Historical Society 2018 – All rights reserved

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close