Clonard Credit Union

Was established on 6th December 1964 and registered as a company with the Industrial Provident Society the company number is NO00002.

The motivating force was Father Hugh McLaughlin of Clonard Monastery.

The first Board meeting held in December 1964 consisted of Charles Daly (President), Patrick Cormican (Treasurer), Frank Gallagher (Secretary), Patrick Cluskey, Henry McDevitt, P. O’Neill, P. McCormick, P. McIlroy and Father Hugh McLaughlin.

Early business was conducted in Waterville Hall and in 1965 moved to newly acquired premises on the corner of Kashmir Road and Clonard Gardens

1984 Father Hugh McLauglin opened new purpose premises. Membership has grown steadily over the years and continues to do so.

The Common Bond in time was also extended to serve the wider community and from those humble beginnings the credit union has grown to and has given over all the years of service to the local community. 

The credit union operates a School Saver Club in local primary schools which has proved to be a very successful way of encouraging children to save and in time to become the adult members of the future.

After 50 years it is acknowledged by many that the founders were as pillars of the Credit Union movement in Clonard.

Want to find out more?

Visit the Clonard Credit Union website, or get in touch with their team:

Telephone – 028 9032 2507

Email –

Copyright British Credit Union Historical Society 2018 – All rights reserved

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close