Wyvern Savings & Loans Credit Union

Registered under the Industrial and Provident Societies as First Dorset Credit Union in 1999.

Wyvern Savings & Loans

Launched in June 1999 with first service point for 2 hours every Wednesday morning in foyer of United Church, Dorchester with office in one small room above the CAB

2000 Office moved to United Church and service point open on Saturdays and Wednesdays

2002 Office and Service point moved to former TSB building in High East Street, Dorchester. Dorchester service point now open Monday to Saturday. Regulation changed to Financial Service Authority. Common bond extended to Weymouth & Portland and the rest of West Dorset.

2003 Service points opened in Littlemoor and Fortuneswell in Portland. Members were able to make payments at the Weymouth and Portland Borough Council Offices. Service point opens in Bridport

2004 Additional service point opened in Easton, Portland. Service point opens in Weymouth. Credit Union office moves from High East Street to Broadmayne. Service point opens in Sherborne.

2005 Dorchester service point moves to Magna building, 40 High East Street and now open every day

2006 Office moves back to Dorchester, 42 High East Street

2007 Common bond area extended to include North Dorset. Service point opens in Gillingham.

2009 Service point opens in Shaftesbury.

2010 Service point opens in Sturminster Newton. Service pointy opens in Blandford

2011 Lyme Regis Service point opens.

2012 FSA changed to Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority

2013 Beaminster Service point opens in the Yarn Barton. Office moves to join service point at 40 High East Street, Dorchester.

2014 Common bond area extended to include all of Dorset. Maiden Newton service point service point opens in Yarn Barton. Wareham opens in Not for Sundaes café  

2015 First Dorset and Camelot Credit Unions merge with effect from 1st October, and become Wyvern Savings and Loans. 

Wyvern Team

2016 Volunteers met for a social event to celebrate the merger of the two Credit Unions, which took place on October 1st. The merged Credit Union is now called Wyvern Savings and Loans and operates across all of Dorset and Somerset.

2017 A new Poole branch is the credit union’s eighteenth local branch or collection point which makes it more accessible to people in communities right across the large rural area. The new branch is the first opened by Wyvern Savings and Loans in the Bournemouth and Poole conurbation, and it is designed to restore local access to credit union services for the communities of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole following the closure of Coastal Credit Union in the summer of 2016.

2020 March, the credit union closed branches in supporting the Government’s restrictions on separation and isolation designed to reduce the risks to staff and to members introduced by the Covid-19 pandemic.  The credit union was working with the Post Office to give members an alternative way of withdrawing their savings at their local Post Office. Members were able to access vouchers of up to £1000.00 to collect the same day, or up to £5000.00 by arrangement. Each voucher costs £1.00 and is valid for 30 days. The cash service is an excellent alternative for members who are unable to access the Dorchester branch or wish to withdraw cash above the usual branch limit of £100.00.  

News and Clips HERE

Want to find out more?

Visit the Wyvern Savings & Loans website, or get in touch with their team:

Telephone – 01305 268 444

Email – admin@wyvernsandl.co.uk

Copyright British Credit Union Historical Society 2018 – All rights reserved

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close